Advisory Board


Businesspeople / Policymakers

Academic Experts

H.E. Abdulrahman Ghanem Almutaiwee

Ambassador of the UAE to the UK

Livio Bettoschi

Managing Partner, Business Integration Partners, UK & Middle East

Prof. Nabil Ayad

Director, Academy of Diplomacy and Intl Governance

H.E. Mal Berisha,

Ambassador of Albania to the UK

Mark Boleat

Chairman of Policy, City of London

Dr Abdullah Baabood

University of Cambridge

H.E. Dr Emil Brix

Ambassador of Austria to the UK (2010-2015)

Dr Erhard Busek

Former Austrian Vice -Chancellor, President of Vienna Economic Forum

Prof.   Trond Beravale

Professor of Economics

H.E. Ünal Çeviköz

Ambassador of Turkey to the UK (2010-2014)

Amb. Borbala Czako

Global Partner, Ernst & Young

Michael Johnson

Expert on International Trade Policy

H.E. Dr Ivan Grdesic

Ambassador of Croatia to the UK

Sir Thomas Harris

Vice-Chairman, Standard Chartered (2004-2014)

Prof. Joseph Mifsud

Director, London Academy of Diplomacy

Sir Peter Heap KCMG

Former British Ambassador to Brazil

Alfred Kovaci

Director of Strategic Partnerships, Bip.


Jonathan Scheele

ESC Visiting Fellow, University of Oxford

H.E. Iztok Jarc

Ambassador of Slovenia to the OSCE

Atam Sandhu

CEO, Developing Markets Associates

Ambassador Zef Mazi

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)


H. E. Dr Ljubisa Stankovic

Ambassador of Montenegro to the UK



Previous Advisory Board Members

HE Anton Thalmann, Former Ambassador of Switzerland to the UK

HE Zola Skweyiya, Former High Commissioner of South Africa to the UK

HE Datuk Zakaria Sulong, Former High Commissioner of Malaysia to the UK

HE Muhamet Hamiti, Former Ambassador of Kosovo to the UK

HE Dr Ivica Tomic, Former Ambassador of Croatia to the UK

HE Marija Efremova, Former Ambassador of Macedonia to the UK

Charles de Chassiron, Former British Ambassador

HE Lyubomir Kyuchokov, Former Ambassador of Bulgaria to the UK

HE Jadranka Negodic, Former Ambassador of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the UK

HE Kamela Palma, Former High Commissioner of Belize to the UK

Philip Baines, COO, HSBC

Peter Heyes, Head of Public Affairs, London Stock Exchange







The Rt Hon the Lord Heseltine CH

UK Deputy Prime Minister (1995-1997)

Sir Michael Rake

Chairman, BT Group

President, CBI

The Rt Hon Michael Fallon

Secretary of State for Defence


Sir Winfried Bischoff


Lloyds Banking Group (2009-2014)









A great number of IBDE events are held with the support of our partners



Clifford Chance


Thomson Reuters



Cass Business School

EUCERS, King's College London

European Institute, UCL

SEESOX, Oxford University

LAD, Stirling University